

# **2024 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist revealed**

**By Perpetual Private** 30 June 2024



Four first-time nominees are among the six talented writers shortlisted for the 2024 Miles Franklin Literary Award. They are joined by former winner Alexis Wright and twice shortlisted author Gregory Day.

16:33:52 04-05-2025

Announced today by Perpetual as Trustee, alongside Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund, the 2024 shortlist is:

- Only Sound Remains by Hossein Asgari (Puncher & Wattmann)
- Wall by Jen Craig (Puncher & Wattmann)
- Anam by André Dao (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House)
- The Bell of the World by Gregory Day (Transit Lounge)
- Hospital by Sanya Rushdi (Giramondo Publishing)
- Praiseworthy by Alexis Wright (Giramondo Publishing)

According to the judges, "This has been an extraordinary year for the Miles Franklin Award. The judges have been awed by the ambitious sweep and range of the novels. The writers have distinguished themselves with their experimentation with techniques, forms, and narrative styles. The six books on the shortlist hold a mirror to the expressions and excitements of contemporary Australian writing. They chronicle significant happenings, connect intimately with the multifarious denizens across Australia, and make us part of a global tapestry of interconnected imaginations. They reveal hidden genealogies of arrival and take us on journeys of discoveries to places left behind, both physical and philosophical, explore the innermost workings of our psyche, and interrogate accepted mores of society. There is an emphasis on listening, and the way we, the reading public, are called upon to ethically engage with the sounds and syllables of our times. Each of these novels crafts its own distinct world and demands our utmost attention."

The 2024 judging panel comprises Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian of the State Library of NSW and Chair; literary scholar, A/Prof Jumana Bayeh; literary scholar and translator, Dr Mridula Nath Chakraborty; book critic, Dr James Ley; and author and literary scholar, Prof Hsu-Ming Teo.

All the shortlisted authors receive \$5,000 each from the Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund.

Copyright Agency's CEO, Josephine Johnston, said, "Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund is thrilled to support the Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist, which once again showcases the incredible literary talent we have in Australia. With a diverse offering of genre and literary style, and authors emerging and established, the shortlist takes readers on a journey of cultural expression and experience – something we all must treasure. Congratulations to all the shortlisted writers!"

The 2024 winner, announced on 1 August 2024, will receive \$60,000.

View this year's shortlisted authors videos to hear what motivated them to write their novels.

## Join the Miles Franklin conversation

Get all the latest updates about the Miles Franklin Literary Award via social media.

Facebook
Instagram
🖸 Twitter

### About the Miles Franklin Literary Award www.milesfranklin.com.au

Perpetual is the Trustee for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. The Award was established in 1954 by the estate of *My Brilliant Career* author Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin to celebrate the Australian character and creativity. It supports the betterment of Australian literature by each year recognising the novel of the highest literary merit which presents Australian Life in any of its phases. Since being established, the Award has distributed over \$1.48 million in philanthropic funds to authors. Those wishing to be part of the Miles Franklin legacy can donate to the Franklin Support Fund to become a friend of the Award. Please visit the website for further details.

Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund is a long-time supporter of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, providing \$5,000 to each of the finalists and granting more than half a million dollars to this premier Australian literary prize since 2004.

#### **About Perpetual Philanthropic Services**

Perpetual is one of Australia's largest managers of philanthropic funds, with \$3.3 billion in funds under advice for charitable trusts and endowment funds (as at 30 June 2023). Perpetual is trustee for over 1000 <u>charitable trusts and endowments</u> and provides individuals and families with advice on establishing charitable foundations and structured giving programs. Each year Perpetual distributes more than \$129 million to community organisations on behalf of its clients. Perpetual also assists charities and not-for-profit organisations with <u>investment advice and management</u>.

Perpetual's Philanthropic Services and advice are provided by Perpetual Trustee Company Limited (PTCo), ABN 42 000 001 007, AFSL 236643. The information contains general information only and is not intended to provide advice or take into account personal objectives, financial situation or needs. The information is believed to be accurate at the time of compilation and is provided by PTCo in good faith. To the extent

#### 16:33:52 04-05-2025

permitted by law, no liability is accepted for any loss or damage as a result of any reliance on this information. PTCo does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information included in this document which was contributed by a third party.

#### About the Copyright Agency and Cultural Fund

The Copyright Agency is an Australian not-for-profit organisation that has been standing up for creators for more than 40 years. We enable the reuse of copyright-protected words and images in return for fair payment to creators. The Cultural Fund is the philanthropic arm of the Copyright Agency, contributing meaningfully to a wide range of Australian cultural, educational, and artistic programs and creators. Through its support it fosters greater understanding and engagement of national culture both locally and internationally.

Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund is a long-time supporter of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, providing \$5,000 to each of the finalists and granting more than half a million dollars to this premier Australian literary prize since 2004.